The 43rd annual Victorian Schools Garden Awards Ceremony
A virtual success


On Wednesday 2nd December VSGP held their 43rd annual Victorian Schools Garden Awards Ceremony, but their first virtual ceremony. VSGP advocates Costa Georgiadis and Jane Edmanson did a fantastic job of bringing the event to life for the many children and teachers in attendance. View the ceremony. 

Ordinarily the Awards Presentation Ceremony is held at the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne. The ceremony is a chance to celebrate and recognise the amazing achievements of students and communities in their school gardens and announce this year’s Victorian Schools Garden Awards winners.

There was a lot of excitement from the entrants as the winners were announced. The Awards Program has 10 different categories for schools to enter and $44,000 worth of nursery vouchers and garden products available to be won.

And the winners were;

Most Engaging for Play Award winners are:

             Hoppers Crossing Montessori Center

             Pomonal Primary School

             St. Anne's School, Sunbury 

             Little Yarra Steiner School 


Maxicrop – Best Edible Garden Award winners:

             Diamond Creek Primary School

             Delacombe Primary School

             Oxley Christian College, Chirnside Park


Catholic Education Melbourne – Most Engaging Student Garden for Wellbeing Learning winners:

             Barwon Valley School, Belmont

             St Mark's Primary School, Dingley

             Parade College, Bundoora


Independent Schools Victoria – Greatest Demonstrated Improvement of School’s Green Space Award winners:

             Our Lady of Fatima Primary School, Rosebud

             Aberfeldie Primary School

             Point Cook P-9 College


Nursery & Garden Industry Victoria - Best School Garden Exhibiting Biodiversity Award winners:

             The Patch Primary School

             Surfside Primary School, Ocean Grove


Turf Victoria Award winner:

             Rosewood Downs Primary School, Dandenong North


Australian Growing Solutions Award winner:

             Rowville Primary School


Fleming’s Nurseries Award winner:

             Footscray High School


RB Landscape Award winner: 

             Catholic Regional College, St. Albans


State Award winner (Primary and Special Schools with less than 280 pupils)

Wandin Yallock Primary School


State Award winner (Primary and Special Schools with over 280 pupils)

Our Lady Star of the Sea Primary School, Ocean Grove


State Award winner (Prep -9, Prep-12 and all Secondary Colleges)

Little Yarra Steiner School

The grand prize, the Kevin Heinze Perpetual Award, chosen from the three state winners, receiving an additional voucher for $1500 and the Perpetual shield was Our Lady Star of the Sea Primary School, Ocean Grove.

At Star of the Sea Primary School, sustainability and caring for the earth is paramount and included in all areas of the of the curriculum along with encouraging their student voice and advocacy through their everyday actions at school.

They embrace outdoor education options and are using their many gardens in fun, collaborative and practical ways to enrich their curriculum and for students to explore through nature play. 

We would like to thank all the innovative principals, teachers and parents who give students the ability to learn in their school gardens and for entering the awards. Keep on growing, enjoy your time in the garden, be passionate and proud about your success.

We look forward to delivering the 44th annual Victorian Schools Garden Awards Ceremony in person at the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne.

VSGP are grateful for the continued support of the Victorian Government, Department of Education and Training, and our sponsors